Smith Mountain Lake Democrats elected new officers at their May 24 general meeting.

Nancy Cox will be the president, Yvette Van Hise the vice president, Kaye Hancock the treasurer and Ann Tavino will serve another term as secretary. Their two-year terms begin June 1.

“Our club is fortunate to have experienced unprecedented growth in the last few years. We had number of new and long-term members to choose from to lead our club into the future” said Denise Tuttle, outgoing president. “This is an exciting year for Democrats in Virginia as we will be choosing a governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general.”

The organization’s Standing Committee chairs will remain the same except for Evins Goodwin who will replace Johnnie Johnson on the Issues Committee.

Read more stories in the current issue of the Smith Mountain Eagle newspaper. Pick up a copy or subscribe at to view articles in the print and/or e-edition version.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.